Thursday, July 9, 2009

How the Mighty Fall

In his new book "How the Mighty Fall", Jim Collins outlines that five stages of decline. They are:
1-Hubris born of success
2- Undisciplined Pursuit of more
3- Denial of Risk and Peril
4- Grasping for Salvation
5- Capitulation to Irrelevance or Death.
One of the best lines in the whole book is on page 63.
"Success creates pressure for more growth, setting up a vicious cycle of expectations; this strains people, the culture, and systems to the breaking point; unable to deliver consistent tactical excellence, the intuition frays at the edges."
Wow. Fresh words and a fresh perspective that will hopefully help us all better understand what is possible in this world and what is just grasping and gasping.
The word hubris means pride. Pride leads to all kinds of things in this world. We make decisions about our future, our families and our lives sometimes out of an overdeveloped sense of self loving value (pride), which then can lead to destruction and sadness. A healthy view of one's self will hopefully provide for better decisions and a great deal more joy. This does not count out taking risks, but there are dumb risks and smart risks. Avoid the dumb ones.
In the one of best Sherlock Holmes stories, Doyle shows a bit of humility in his character.
"If it should ever strike you that I am getting a little over-confident in my powers, or giving less pains to a case than it deserves, kindly whisper 'Norbury' in my ear, and I shall be infinitely obliged to you."
Norbury should ring in all of our ears when we become a bit too prideful and arrogant. Remember to enjoy the blessings you have received and be a thankful person today. We never know how many more days we can be thankful.
Go in peace and go with God.

No comments: